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Bulletin Number 2 Richard Colker
Congratulations to CHINESE TAIPEI, winners of Flight A of the OUCHI CUP.

Results of the OUCHI CUP
Flight A:
1st CHINESE TAIPEI: NJ Shen, WM Chang, DM Yen, JF Lee, YM Yen, MH Wu
2nd H Hisatomi, T Teramoto, M Ino, T Imakura, T Hirata, S Shimizu
3rd  POLAND-USA: S Lev, M Polowan, P Gawrys, M Lesniewski
4th T Jomura, K Shimamura, K Ito, Y Shimizu
5th K Fujimoto, H Miyauchi, T Maeda, N Hayashi
6th  ICELAND: B Eysteinsson, K Sigurhjartarson, T Jonsson, S Thorbjornsson
7th-  GREAT BRITAIN: B Mavromichalis, J Armstrong, Paul, Justin, and Jason Hackett
8th T Nose, G Schuett, A Amano, M Sekizawa
9th  YOUTH: K Furuta, M Takayama, M Kohno, T Harada, R Colker, E Kokish
10th A Yamada, K Ohno, K Yamada, K Takahashi, T Yoshida, P Newman
Flight B:
1st  Klzaki, T Kamiyo, H Sekiyami, Y Nenohi
2nd S Nagasaka, M Mizuta, M Ohno, Y Oosako
3rd R Bruno, J Schuett, H Weinstein, R Katz, Y Nakamura, K Miyakuni
4th K Shibata, K Arikawa, Y Okada, T Hiramori
5th E Miyaishi, Y Yoshimori, T Sumita, K Hisatomi
6th N Sano, M Gotoh, C Hamada, S Amram
7th K Ukisu, Y Satoh, K Hayashida, Y Masamura
8th S Nakagawa, E Hamaguchi, K Nakagawa, F Sakabe
9th M Ando, K Araki, T Kawaguchi, M Tsubakihara
10th Y Endo, T Inaba, H Noda, R Fukumaru
Flight C:
1st R Illingworth, A Yanagisawa, Y Katano, S Yamada
2nd R Watanabe, S Kimura, K Okada, H Takeuchi
3rd- K Sato, Y Toriumi, T Nishiwaki, N Ishikawa
4th M Ichihashi, Y Fukuda, A Mizuuchi, K Senga
5th O Kimura, K Nishino, T Hagiwara, A Minamino
6th- T Kyoshima, N Kyoshima, M Kimura, K Takano
7th N Nishida, Quin Bei-Lin, S Yamamura, T Miyashiro
8th S Hirao, R Masumi, T Yokoyama, S Kazama
9th K Ueki, Y taka, T Hirano, T Furuoya
10th K Kodaira, M Fukushima, N Meshino, T Hatakeyama, K Makita




Left to Right: JF Lee, MH Wu, YN Yen, NJ Shen, WM Chang, DM Yen

DIr: East
Vul: N/S

West

& AK64
¥ AQJ72
4 J965
&b -

WEST

1v
2¢
6¢
Pass

North

& Q93

¥ K9863
—

% AQJ95

South

& J10872
¥ 1054

¢ AK87
% 10

NORTH EAST
Smith

Pass
Pass INT
Pass 5¢
Pass Pass
Pass

East

a5

| g

¢ Q10432
% K876432

SOUTH
Davies
Pass
Pass
Pass
Double

Redouble All Pass

THE PINOCHLE DECK
By Barry Rigal

(From Bulletin No. 4, THE 1998 MACALLAN
INTERNATIONAL BRIDGE PAIRS
CHAMPIONSHIP)

What is the strongest hand with which you have
stayed silent, and heard your opponents redouble a
slam? Nicola Smith, North on the board, heard her
opponents bid: Pass-1¥, INT-2¢, 5¢-6¢. When Pat
Davies doubled and East redoubled, Nicola had to
check the back of the cards.

Nicola led the #A and declarer ruffed. However,
when the clubs failed to break, declarer had to
concede down three, and minus 1000.

(Nicola Smith and Pat Davies finished second in the
event — Eds.)



JUST LIKE IN THE TEXTBOOKS

Sitting in fourth seat, with neither side vulnerable, you (South) hold, 49 YAJ75 ¢K10952 #Q64. The

auction proceeds:

WEST NORTH EAST SOUTH
Pass INT 26 34

44 Pass Pass Double
All Pass

What do you lead, and why? (No fair peeking below.)

With your ten count opposite partner’s strong notrump, the opponents’ save must depend on their
ability to ruff losers. That’'s what all the textbooks say. So you lead your singleton trump and, lo and
behold, the complete deal turns out to be:

Dir: W
Vul: None

West

& 8653

¥ 109432
¢ A

S J32

Bd: OUCHI-II-8 North

® KQ2

¥ Q8

¢ Q7

% AK9875

South
9

¥ AJ75

¢ K10973
% Q64

East

& AJ1074
¥ K6

¢ J8643
% 10

On a trump lead, careful defense holds declarer to
six tricks; that’s plus 800 for your side, or rather
Michael Polowan’s side, for he sat South and his
partner, Sam Lev, was North. Their teammates,
Piotr Gawrys and Marcin Lesniewski, went plus
50 at the other table when they led the #J against
North’s 3NT and declarer chose to try to develop
his ninth trick in diamonds rather than hearts. That
was unlucky. Plus 800 and plus 50 combined for a
13 IMP pickup for USA |l on their way to wrapping
up the top qualifying spot in Section A on day one
of the OUCHI CUP.

See. It pays to read your textbooks — and Daily
Bulletins!

Congratulations to the winners of Flight B of the OUCHI CUP.

Left to right:

T Kamiyo, H Sekiyama, Y Nenohi, K Izaki



HOW LOW CAN YOU GO?

In the Saturday evening session of the OUCHI CUP the fearsome MAVROMICHALIS team (including
three Hacketts and an Armstrong) was on their way to a first place qualification for yesterday’s
Group A finals — but then they didn’t bargain for Wei Xu and Qi Gu.

Dir: W
Vul: None

West

# 985

¥ Q865
43

% J8642

Brigitte Gu

1¢
Pass 24
Pass 54
All Pass

Bd: OUCHI-II-16 North

¢ KQ10
¥ A93

4 108742
% K5

South

& A7642
¥ 1072
¢ AJ6

% A10

WEST NORTH EAST

Jason
Pass
Pass
Pass

East

& J3

¥ KJ4
¢ KQ95
% Q973

SOUTH
Xu

14
ANT?!
64

Xu liked his controls so well he launched into
Blackwood when his partner chirped support for
his spades. Against the slam Brigitte
Mavromichalis led her singleton diamond and
Jason Hackett, always the technician, put up his
king. Xu won the ace, drew trumps in three rounds
ending in dummy, led the 44 to the five and six! —
and then picked Jason up off the floor. Plus 980
measured up quite well, thank you, against Xu-
Gu’s opponents’ plus 450 in 44 at the other table;
11 IMPs to the Xu-Gu team.

At the end of the match the mighty Britishers
found themselves looking around the floor under
the table for a victory point to add to the total they
had when they arrived. They had been smoked
30-0 for game, set, and match.

Our thanks to Jason for telling us about this hand.

Congratulations to the winners of Flight C of the OUCHI CUP.

Left to right:

R lllingworth, A Yanagisawa, S Yamada,
Y Katano



THINK OF A NUMBER

Perhaps | haven'’t played often enough in recent years, but | can’t remember a session in which there
were four very large penalties, all of them the same size.

Yesterday’s first final session of the OUCHI CUP left the number 800 firmly wedged in my mindlet.

Anyone experiencing the same sort of negative reinforcement is hereby invited to pay us a visit in
Room 212 of the Pacifico.

Since good bulletin material is not always easy to find, we're going to share our sometimes grisly
800s with you. Please bear with us.

In MATCH ONE, we shuffled the boards ourselves . . .

At both tables, East/West found it difficult to
[B)IC:’.' E:S?HI'FI'ZZ ;l%rég%:s limit their hands with any certainty and
Vul" E/W ¥ K108 pushed on to a thin 4¥. If you’re going to
| ¢ 1072 bid aggressively, it's a good idea to sound
& Q4 cpnfident when_you do so, making it as
West East difficult as possible for your opponents to
& Q6 & AKJ double you..When West.at TABLE ONE
v AQOG5 ¥ 7432 took some time before blddlng_ga_me, South
* 965 o KJ43 was pretty sure she_wgs not thinking abqut
& K65 & 107 slam, and backed his judgment by doubling.
South He was a favorite to hold three defensive
;:;42 tricks and trumps were not breaking, so
v) prospects seemed quite good.
;/283832 The defense started with two rounds of
clubs. Declarer won the king, crossed to the
#A, and led a trump to the jack, queen, and
TABLE ONE ; . :
king. North switched to the 42, jack, queen.
\j\éﬁiren ggE;H II\E/I%?oTzumi EgkLiJ;H South played a third club to allow North to
1e o score the ¥8 in front of dummy, and North
o Pass 3 Pass continued with the 10, king, ace. South
4%(1) Pass Pass Double played a fourth cllub and North scored .the
Al Pass ¥10ona prgmotlon for three down, minus
(1) After some thought (fill in the blank space).
TABLE TWO
That proved to be 12 IMPs to JAPAN-
%ig;ama NORTH Eﬁ‘r‘i; SOUTH YOUTH yvhen Masaaki Takayama was not
1e o dqubled in 4% and escaped for two down,
2y Pass 3¢ Pass minus 200.
49 All Pass




. Three boards later, we experienced a
[B)ldr'_ ggﬁﬁl'ﬂ'w 2‘?{%653 moment of deja vu when East took his time
VuI.' East/West v 87642 before pushing on to 3NT. South, with a
' .6 good lead and reason to believe that both
& A93 spades and diamonds would not produce
West East vast numbers of tricks, decided to raise the
& Q842 & K9 stakes. And again, his speculative double
v AJ9 v K105 succeeded well beyond his expectations.
o J4 * AQ109 Declarer put up the %K early and after the
& K752 & 64 defenders cashed four club tricks, South
South switched to the #J, which ran to the king.
.7 When he regained the lead with the ¢K, he
v Q3 played a second spade, and the defense
* K7653 took a total of seven tricks for three down,
& QJ108 minus (fill'in the blank space).
Kazuo Furuta -Takayama stopped at 1NT
WEST NO-IF-Q'EILE OI\IIEI,EAST SOUTH and made two for plus 120 and JAPAN-
Janssen Colker Morozumi  Kokish YOUTH gained 14 IMPs en route to a first-
1 Pass round blitz.
14 Pass INT Pass However (comma) it was not all
i’ﬁ'LaSS Pass 3NT(1) Double sweetness and light for JAPAN-YOUTH (do
Colker and | make it JAPAN-YOUTH PLUS
(1) After some thought__ 16 CREEPING OLD AGE?) A slopped
undertrick cost them the next match, and in
%i\:-rama NORTH EuAri;ra SOUTH ROUND THREE, they met the dread
y 1 Pass HACKETT team, with both teams aiming to
14 Pass INT All Pass make a positive move in the standings.
In retrospect, we should have stayed in
bed.

On the first deal, we defended 24 too aggressively and allowed Justin the Hackett a delightful
overtrick. On the second deal, John Armstrong opened a 14-16 point notrump with a good five-card
spade suit, missed a nine-card fit, but went plus (90). Although 24 was cold, it was easy to get too
high, and | thought this a minus position for us, but our guys went plus 140 so we won 2 imps. On the
third deal, we went down in a normal 3NT against solid defense from Justin-Armstrong. Not much
going on yet.

But then . ..



For most of my adult life | have avoided
Bd: OUCHI-F3-20 North overcalls like the repulsive 24 depicted on
DIr: West & KJ852 the left, but hey, I'm playing “light initial
Vul: Both ¥ J9853 action” with Colker-san. Am | liberated or
L what?
% 983
West East Justin’s “Support Double” achieved a
¢ Q63 & A1097 somewhat serendipitous result when
¥ AK4 ¥ 102 Armstrong was both able and willing to
4 876 ¢ K10942 pass it, and there | was, going for my
% A752 % K4 wretched life in 24 doubled.
South
&4 “Where are your trumps, Rich?”
¥ Q76
¢ AQJS3 “You've seen them, and it doesn’t get any
& QJ106 better after that either.”
TABLE ONE “Thank you. That’s a very disappointing
WEST NORTH EAST SOUTH dummy.”
Justin Colker Armstrong  Kokish
14 Pass 14 24 Amid the general jocularity, the defenders
Double(1)  All Pass lost one of their ruffs and | was eventually
(1) Three-card spade support able to draw trumps and score a heart trick
TABLE TWO for a mere three down, minus
WEST NORTH EAST SOUTH (you fill in the blank space).
Takayama Jason Furuta Brigitte
1% 14 INT 2¢ Little did we know that this was to be our
Pass 29 Pass 3% best board of the round (a sad reflection on
Pass 3v Pass 49 the state of modern bridge). At the other
Pass Pass Double All Pass table, Jason the Hackett committed a one-

level overcall with the shapely North hand,
and Brigitte Mavromichalis took him seriously. Four hearts doubled was beyond the capabailities of
young Jason, and he finished four down, minus 1100 (we have filled in the blank space for you this
time since it was not ). 7 IMPs to JAPAN-YOUTH.

As luck would have it, | was vulnerable again on the next deal against vulnerable opponents.
Armstrong on my right opened a strong artificial 2 after a bit of thought (perhaps he had run out of
fingers and toes with which to count his points). | was dealt: 4A2 Y9 ¢K106 #Q1096543. Well,
would you bid or not? Shrewd table feeler that | am, | thought that Armstrong’s deliberation was likely
to be based on an unbalanced hand, and that we might be able to do some business if | hit a fit. |
tried 3%, and Justin’s double ended the auction.

“Penalty?” | asked.

“‘Don’t know,” Armstrong replied. That left me with some hope, but the appearance of dummy took
care of that.



This was the full deal, | think . . .

Bd: OUCHI-F3-21 North

DIr: North & 109875
Vul: N/S ¥ J862
¢ 7543
&
West East
& J43 & KQ6
¥ A105 ¥ KQ743
¢ J92 ¢ AQ8
% J872 & AK
South
& A2
¥v9
¢ K106
% Q1096543

back-to-back, in the modern history of bridge.

“Thank you. That’s a very disappointing dummy.”

Justin led the YA and switched to a spade to the
queen and ace. A low trump ran to the king and
Armstrong tried the ¥Q. | ruffed and led another
low trump around to the ace. Armstrong led the
¥YK. | ruffed again and played queen of trumps,
trump. Justin won the jack and exited safely with a
spade, but with the ¥J established in dummy, he
had to play a third spade. | discarded a diamond
and now Justin had to play a diamond for me. Just
three light. Minus (are you
getting a feel for this yet?).

For those of you attending the NEC Bridge
Festival's closing ceremony, Colker will be
accepting his award for the two worst dummys,

A few more triumphs of this nature and we’ll be hard pressed to find teammates. Brigitte managed to
stay out of trouble with my cards at the other table and the boys fetched up in 4% from the East side.
Brigitte led a club, which Jason ruffed. He returned a spade and not a diamond, so he got a second
ruff, and the K was the setting trick. One down, minus 50. 13 IMPs out.

Losing Match Three by 4 IMPs earned us the right to play our Indonesian freiends and former
teammates in Match Four. How revolting. We won that one by 5 IMPs to finish the afternoon in fair
shape, but the trauma of those four 800 numbers lingers on.

THE NEC BRIDGE FESTIVAL IS ON THE INTERNET

We are happy to announce that our Daily Bulletins are available on the Internet. Call your family and
friends and tell them to follow the adventures of some of the best players in the world (including
yourself) by surfing the net to the following address:

http://Ibridge.cplaza.ne.jp/necfest.html I



HAMMAMET: APPEAL CASE TWO

Venice Cup, Round 7: France vs USA |

Appeal Committee: Steen Moller (Chairman, Denmark), Bill Pencharz (GB), Eric Kokish (Canada).

WEST NORTH EAST SOUTH

Bd: 2 Meyers

DIr: East & AQ4 pass 19 Pass

Vul: N/S ¥ KQJ9732
¢ J83 KT 5& Pass 5v
& Pass oL Pass SNT

Saul Bessis Pass 7H All Pass

: 525 :‘197653 Result: Made seven; N/S +2210.

;1K01908753 ;%96 Facts: West called the TD to the table at the end.of
Montin thg lnext board. Before the lead South told West (in
s 102 writing) that.5§ was probably Exclusion Blapkwood.
v A10 North had given this |nformat|on to East during the .
* AKQ752 guctlon.. W.est argueq that if she_had known abogt this
& Q42 in the bidding, she might have bid 6% over 5%, since

her partner figured to hold at least four clubs. The TD

ruled that South’s failure to Alert constituted an
infraction of Law 75 (Example 1); when this results in damage to the opponents, “the TD shall award
an adjusted score.” However, in this case the TD determined that E/W had not been damaged.
Under Law 9 players must summon the TD at once when attention is drawn to an irregularity. Both
West and South should have done this as soon as South explained her uncertainty about the 5% bid
— not after the next board.

TD's Ruling: The table result stands.

Appeal: E/W appealed. West told the Committee that when 5% was not Alerted she thought the bid
was natural, showing six-five or six-six in the rounded suits. Otherwise, she would have bid 6%, which
might have led to a cheap sacrifice in 74. She said that because South had looked uncertain about
the bid, she didn't want to ask and give away information for the play. N/S explained that Exclusion
Blackwood had never before come up in a competitive auction. 4% by North would have been
natural. They suggested that if West was thinking of bidding she should have asked. South wasn't
sure whether 5% was Exclusion Blackwood or a splinter, but in either case 5% was the correct bid: 0
or 3 Keycards in the first case; a heart cue-bid in the second. South had forgotten to Alert the 5% bid
because of her uncertainty about this, and in the confusion she also forgot to Alert her own 5% bid.

Committee’s Decision: The Committee believed that West should have done more to protect
herself over 59. She should have called the TD as soon as she believed that she had been
prevented from taking the desired action over 5¥. The Committee also believed that a 6¢ bid by
West was far from obvious, even if she had been Alerted and given the correct explanation. East's
failure to double 5% or to bid 6% over 5% herself (she also knew of the big club fit) supported this
view. The Committee believed that South should have called the TD before the opening lead and
explained her uncertainty about the 5% bid, as required by Law 9. Her failure to do so likely
contributed to the problem. The Committee allowed the table result to stand and penalized N/S 0.5



VP for failing to Alert properly and for not informing E/W about the ambiguous 5% situation before
play began. This penalty was in accordance with the WBF policy for penalizing minor offenses when
they cause contentious difficulties, as happened here.

Analysis: This was another good Committee decision. While it is true that South failed to properly
Alert West and explain the possible meaning of her partner’s 5 bid, as well as her own 5% bid, West
was obligated by law to summon the TD when it was first discovered that there had been an
infraction (Law 9B1(a)). In this case, had the TD been called promptly he could have determined at
once, before West saw the dummy and knew the result on the hand, what she would have done had
she been properly informed of the meanings of the two bids. Thus, even though South had
committed an infraction, West was not entitled to the benefit of knowing the entire hand before she
committed herself to an action which she would have had to make before the end of the auction in
any circumstances. To wait until the hand was over was what Committee’s call “looking for a double-
shot” — seeing what the result on the board is so that, if it is favorable (say 7¥ had gone down) West
could simply say nothing and keep it while if it was poor (as 7% making was) she could claim that she
would have bid and thus led her side to a profitable sacrifice. The Committee properly did not allow
West this “double-shot” opportunity. The fact that West’s proposed 6 bid was found to be “far from
obvious” only added to the certainty of their decision.

On the other hand, the South player had committed an infraction which could have benefited her
side. While the connection between this infraction and the result was never demonstrated, players
cannot be permitted to ignore their obligations under the laws and proper procedures established for
the event (in this case a World Championship). Therefore, the Committee, in accord with WBF policy,
assessed a (0.5 VP) penalty against N/S for their infraction and the problems which it created.

TOMORROW’S SCHEDULE Times

10:00 MATCH ONE
Play will be held tomorrow on the fourth floor Pacifico, Rooms 401 12:20  LUNCH BREAK

and 402. Two-hours and twenty-minutes are allotted for each 13:20 MATCH TWO
16-board match, with a one-hour lunch break, a twenty-minute 15:40 BREAK

break between matches two and three, and a one-hour twenty- 16:00 MATCH THREE
minute dinner break. 18:20 BREAK

18:40 MATCH FOUR

10



TODAY’S PARTNERSHIP QUIZLET

(1) 24-(DBL)-34-(4%)
272

(A) Is opener invited to bid 447

(B) If not, might he bid 44 anyway? When?

Does the vulnerability matter?

Provide an example hand for 44 (choose the vulnerability yourself):

(C) Is opener invited to double?

(D) If not, might he double anyway? When?

Does the vulnerability matter?

Provide an example hand for double (choose the vulnerability yourself):

(2) Pass-(Pass)-3%-(DBL)
4ée- (49)-277

(A) Is this different from (1) above?

(B) Are your agreements different for minors and majors?

(C) Given that the preemptor might double, would this be:

(i) Penalty?

(i) A maximum 3¢ bid?

(iii) Lightner style?

(iv) Interest in a save?

(D) Is 4% bidder 100% the captain?

11



